SARC Champions

The South Australian Rally Championship has a long history.

Here is our Hall of Fame a list of our SARC Champions over the last 60 years, including the vehicles they contested the series in.

Who will be our Champions in 2023? In 2022, at round 4, two drivers went into the last round tied on points, four drivers battled over three days, often with little more than 0.1 of seconds between them stage after stage! Follow the championship battle on facebook here

Think you’ve got what it takes? Want to get involved? As a competitor? As a Rallysport Official?

#SARC2023 #SARS2023 #SACS2023 #RallysportOfficials

Our Hall of Fame | SARC Champions through the years

2022Jamie PohlnerMitsubishi EVO 9Adam ‘Beaker” BranfordMitsubishi EVO 9
2021Jamie PohlnerSubaru WRX/Mitsubishi EVO 9Adam ‘Beaker” BranfordSubaru WRX/Mitsubishi EVO 9
2020Aaron BoweringSubaru WRXHeath WeedonSubaru WRX
2019Zayne AdmiraalSubaru WRXMatthew HeywoodSubaru WRX
2018Peter ScheySubaru WRXKate CatfordSubaru WRX
2017Aaron BoweringSubaru WRXMike DaleMitsubishi Galant VR4
2016Andrew GleesonDatsun StanzaLisi PhillipsDatsun 1600
2015Guy TylerMitsubishi EVO 5Steve FisherMitsubishi EVO 5
2014Henry NottMitsubishi EVO 6Warren NeitzDatsun 1600
2013James RoddaSubaru WRX STiDavid LangfieldSubaru WRX STi
2012Declan DwyerMitsubishi EVO 6Craig AdamsMitsubishi EVO 6
2011Russell MarkerSubaru WRX STiKarien HeimsohnSubaru WRX STi
2010Russell MarkerSubaru WRX STiKarien HeimsohnSubaru WRX STi
2009Matthew SelleySubaru WRX STiClaire RyanSubaru WRX STi
2008Matthew SelleySubaru WRX STiJoana FullerSubaru WRX STi
2007Matthew SelleySubaru WRX STiJoana FullerSubaru WRX STi
2006Declan DwyerMitsubishi EVO 3Craig AdamsMitsubishi EVO 3
2005Declan DwyerMitsubishi EVO 3Craig AdamsMitsubishi EVO 3
2004Wil OrdersMitsubishi EVO 1Matthew McAdamMitsubishi EVO 1
2003Samuel BrandSubaru WRX STITim BattenSubaru WRX STI
2002Darryn SnooksMitsubishi EVO 1David Johns
Brendon Dearman
Mitsubishi EVO 1
Subaru WRX STI
2001Tom QuillSubaru WRX STIMike DaleSubaru WRX STI
2000Tom QuillSubaru WRX STIMatthew SandersHolden Commodore
1999Darren MastersMazda 323 GTRPaul WhitingMazda 323 GTR
1998Not awarded
1997Steve Winwood
Darren Masters
Ben Makai
Ford Falcon
Mazda 323 GTR
Datsun Stanza
Leah McClintockDatsun 1200
Datsun Stanza
1996Eric DowlingFord Laser TX3Craig OrrFord Laser TX3
1995Glen CugleySubaru LegacyJeremy BrowneSubaru Legacy
1994Andrew LovellMazda 323 GTXBrian OrtleppMazda 323 GTX
1993David McDonoughMitsubishi Galant VR4Ian LawsonMitsubishi Galant VR4
1992John GeorgeFord Laser TX3Mark StaceyFord Laser TX3
1991Mark TolcherSubaru RX TurboDavid TolcherSubaru RX Turbo
1990Barry LoweFord Falcon GTHODoug MorisonFord Falcon GTHO
1989Dick ManningFord Falcon XYKevin AttwoodFord Falcon XY
1988Alan MuttonSubaru RX TurboCarol MuttonSubaru RX Turbo
1987Mark TolcherSubaru RX TurboDoug MorrisonMazuba
1986Ed OrdynskiSubaru RX TurboLyn WilsonSubaru RX Turbo
1985Jim ConaghtyDazdaJeremy BrowneDazda
1984Jim ConaghtyDazdaJeremy BrowneDazda
1983Barry LoweDazdaTed DobrzynskiDazda
1982Barry LoweDazdaTed DobrzynskiDazda
1981Barry BurnsDatsun StanzaDavid MilneDatsun Stanza
1980Barry BurnsDatsun 1600David MilneDatsun 1600
1979Jim ConaghtyMazda RX3Adrian MortimerMazda RX3
1978Phil PittawayDatsun 1600Peter HardenDatsun 1600
1977Jim ConaghtyToyota CelicaKevin AttwoodToyota Celica
1976John TaylorMini Cooper SJeremy BrowneMini Cooper S
1975Stewart McLeodDatsun 240ZAdrian MortimerDatsun 240Z
1974Stewart McLeodDatsun 240ZAdrian MortimerDatsun 240Z
1973Stewart McLeodDatsun 240ZAdrian MortimerDatsun 240Z
1972Chuck MoraRenault 16TSAdrian MortimerMazda RX2
1971Tom Barr SmithRenault 16TSRob HuntRenault 16TS
1970Stewart McLeodHolden Torana XU1Jack LockHolden Torana XU1
1969Adrian CallaryHonda S800Garry ChapmanHonda S800
1968Ron WaiteToyota Corona 1600SL. NewbyToyota Corona 1600S
1967Adrian CallaryRenault 16TSGarry ChapmanRenault 16TS
1966Stewart McLeodVolkswagen BeetleJack LockVolkswagen Beetle
1965Stewart McLeodVolkswagen BeetleJack LockVolkswagen Beetle
1964L.L. FiebigVolkswagen BeetleGarry ChapmanVolkswagen Beetle
1963Adrian CallaryRenault R8Garry ChapmanRenault R8
1962Adrian CallaryRenault R8Garry ChapmanRenault R8
1961Laurie BoyleUnknownG. DickesonUnknown